The W Family Chronicles

So much to share, not enough time.

Posted on: December 14, 2006

Today is J’s last day of school until after the holidays.  Last night I made brownies for his classmates and individually wrapped each one in red saran wrap, tied off with a ribbon and a custom made card.  I hate doing stuff like that.  That is just not “me.”  But I did it while watching the season finale of Biggest Loser, so it would go a bit faster.  I was amazed at some of the people’s losses!  D and I are inspired to work on our weight in the new year.  We’re planning our own version of Biggest Loser for the 2 of us.  I’m looking forward to making him wash the dishes as my “prize.”

Which reminds me, he bought me new dishes for Christmas.  I had to go along to pick them out so I know what I’m getting…so much for the element of surprise!  I’m going to try to sell our Royal Doulton Carmina china on eBay.  I’m bored with it and it has no special meaning to me.  It was a free gift from Sandals when we went on our honeymoon.  Here’s a pic of the new in case anyone is curious.  It’s from Bed Bath & Beyond and is called Chandi Vanilla.  I think it will match nicely with the living room and kitchen I’m planning…lots of browns!

We are now done with our Christmas shopping.  What a relief it is to have it finished!  Now we just need to finish our tree and get everything wrapped.

It’s hard to believe at this time last year that I was pregnant with C and we were still unsure if we’d have a baby this Christmas.  It was such a scary time.  I count my blessings every day that our baby C arrived safely and is here with us.

Some exciting news yesterday.  One of the PTs who evaluated C for Early Intervention called and asked if she could do a private infant massage class with us so she could complete her certification requirements.  I am thrilled about this!  I had actually intended to take an infant massage class before C was born but the chaotic last couple weeks of my pregnancy coupled with him being 2 weeks early (and at least 3 weeks before I expected him to arrive!) prevented me from doing it.  I know she had many people she could have chosen from so I am honored that she felt we were “worthy” of her time and efforts.  Maybe a little massage every night will help Colin sleep better…and in his OWN bed!  We can only hope, right?  I never pegged myself as a full-time co-sleeper but that is what I’ve become.  It is SO much easier to roll over and nurse him since he’s now waking up 3-4 (or more) times a night.  Poor D has been a walking zombie and this is the only way we can all get enough sleep.  It’s really fun when J has a nightmare and joins us in bed…I am *so* glad we got a king size bed before C arrived.  All 4 of us in a queen would have been a nightmare!

Leave a Reply

W Family Players

D is the dad, the husband, and the breadwinner. All around nice guy and good at pretty much everything he does. It's disgusting, really. But makes him worth keeping around.

M is the mom, the wife, and the hopeless housekeeper. At least the kids' heads haven't fallen off yet. Beyond that, she sucks at the "stay at home" thing. Oh, and she's the blogger.

J is the big boy. Born October 11 2002, he is in kindergarten and loves it. Now 6 years old, and too smart for his own good. Talks a lot but extremely entertaining.

C is the little boy. Born June 26, 2006, he went through a lot in his first year but is doing just fine now. The only blond in the family, so his paternity is routinely questioned by rude strangers.

V is our baby girl. She is brand new and arrived in January 2009. So far everything is going well. We're thrilled to have added the final piece to our family puzzle. And yes, she WILL be the final piece!

Categories

  • 16,870 views
