The W Family Chronicles

Mommies can do anything daddies can!

Posted on: March 20, 2007

Yes folks, that was today’s lesson for my boys. I put together my awesome office furniture from that retail mecca named Target. I did 99% of it by myself…the exception being something with the shelves. I hadn’t lined one side up properly and couldn’t tighten the thingy that was supposed to hold it together. D came home right about the time I was trying to figure out what I’d messed up and of course swooped in to “rescue” me. I would have figured it out eventually! And he put the top on the shelves because that was the next step. I guess he figured I wouldn’t be able to reach. Which is probably true. But other than that, I did it all with my handy dandy pink ratcheting screwdriver with interchangeable bits! Which I also procured at the Tar-zhay…for only $1!!! Can you tell I *really* love that place?

So anyway, here are some pics of it put together…excuse the boxes! I started unpacking them a little bit and got sidetracked. OOPS!

First is the desk, hutch, and filing cabinet. And of course, C & J entertaining each other. The trunk under the window was left by the previous owners…very cool! The boxes on the trunk are eBay and half.com items that need to be sold but that have been languishing in the spare bedroom because I didn’t have a good place to keep that stuff. Hopefully I can get going with that again and make some extra cash.

And now the shelves! This is the opposite side of the room…same window in both pics, just opposite ends of it. I am not sure if this is where they’ll stay. I kind of wanted D to build some bookshelves for that little alcove, but there’s one on the other side of that wall in the living room and he’ll probably build them in there instead. So these will most likely stay there, next to the ugly black filing cabinet that I hate but that holds the utility bills from our very first house in Knoxville. Yes, we still have those. Yes, I know it’s OK to throw them out. Someday I’ll have time to go through them.

I expect to have pictures of some other rooms soon! The hall bath is almost ready to have pictures, and so is C’s room. His changing table isn’t there yet, but everything else is. His room turned out really nice…the orange is so warm and fun! I think D is getting used to it, but he still despises the apple green in the bathroom. I think all of the colors I picked out turned out great…even though the gray in our room sometimes looks purple! I can live with it and D says he doesn’t care enough to repaint, so I guess it worked out OK. 😛

It looks like we’ll be sleeping there Saturday night. We have moving help lined up (must call babysitter…I keep forgetting!) and a truck reserved, so we should be all set. There’s not much left here to move. In our room, most of the furniture is left, but some of J’s has been moved, most of C’s, most of the kitchen, and part of the living room. And most of the clothes and dishes are let here as well as random junk, but that’s all easy stuff! We’re SO looking forward to having more space.

And just because I can, here’s a pic of C. Can you believe how big he is? He’ll be 9 months next week. Time flies! No pics of J as he was at Lowe’s with Daddy at the time. I’ll try later! I may even try to get them both at the same time…though that’s easier said than done!

Leave a Reply

W Family Players

D is the dad, the husband, and the breadwinner. All around nice guy and good at pretty much everything he does. It's disgusting, really. But makes him worth keeping around.

M is the mom, the wife, and the hopeless housekeeper. At least the kids' heads haven't fallen off yet. Beyond that, she sucks at the "stay at home" thing. Oh, and she's the blogger.

J is the big boy. Born October 11 2002, he is in kindergarten and loves it. Now 6 years old, and too smart for his own good. Talks a lot but extremely entertaining.

C is the little boy. Born June 26, 2006, he went through a lot in his first year but is doing just fine now. The only blond in the family, so his paternity is routinely questioned by rude strangers.

V is our baby girl. She is brand new and arrived in January 2009. So far everything is going well. We're thrilled to have added the final piece to our family puzzle. And yes, she WILL be the final piece!

Categories

  • 16,870 views
