The W Family Chronicles

Found a place to beach! And a funny baby story.

Posted on: May 3, 2007

I was semi productive today.  I finally found a place to stay at the beach.  Will probably book tomorrow if everyone agrees to the location and dates!

And now I must share a story, but it needs to be set up with some explanations.  Like most houses, our living areas are cut off from the rest of the house by a hall.  The hall is gated and to get through to the bedrooms, we walk through the master bath which has a door off the foyer  (yeah, weird floor plan thing!) and we keep that door shut to keep C in the kitchen/living room/dining room/office spaces.  This morning, J forgot to close the bathroom door as we were on our way to school.  I forgot to check it when we got home and put C down to play while I worked on the (mountainous pile of) dishes in the sink.  D and I have been having a battle of stubbornness…I hate doing dishes, and he knows this.  But he hasn’t done them b/c he’s been doing laundry for me so I don’t have to go into the snake filled laundry room.  Granted, I think it’s fair to expect me to do the dishes.  But I was being lazy and hoping he’d do them.

Anyway, with J at school, I set to work on the dishes.  I had gotten through a fair amount of them when I realized that my tiny sunshine was being *very* quiet.  And that I hadn’t seen him in quite some time.  So I went searching for him…not in the office, nor the dining room, nor the living room…but I’d forgotten to check that bathroom door.  I assume he’s crawled into J’s room to play with his trains (which he does every chance he gets) and head that way.  But I am stopped just inside the bathroom door by an absolutely horrifying sight.

My sweet baby was playing in the TOILET! :O

Yep, that’s right.  Because I neglected my housewifely duties and was trying to catch up, I neglected my momly (is momly a word?) duties and my baby managed to play in the toilet.  The good news is that I had just cleaned it yesterday and that we rarely use that one since it *is* a passage through to the rest of the house.  Obviously the bad news is that it was a TOILET!!!

So C got a morning bath.  He did not care for the way I scrubbed him head to toe.  I am still icked out.  And cannot believe I’m admitting to this.  But it’s funny and I’d like to remember it, in an odd way.

So at lunch I shared the story with D and ended with the moral…I’m a crappy mom and an even worse housewife.  To which he replied that he definitely agreed with the second part but he absolutely disagreed with the first part.  Awwwwwwwwww…I can deal with being a crappy housewife but it really warms the cockles of my heart to know he thinks I’m a good mom.  Didn’t I tell you he was practically perfect in every way?

Leave a Reply

W Family Players

D is the dad, the husband, and the breadwinner. All around nice guy and good at pretty much everything he does. It's disgusting, really. But makes him worth keeping around.

M is the mom, the wife, and the hopeless housekeeper. At least the kids' heads haven't fallen off yet. Beyond that, she sucks at the "stay at home" thing. Oh, and she's the blogger.

J is the big boy. Born October 11 2002, he is in kindergarten and loves it. Now 6 years old, and too smart for his own good. Talks a lot but extremely entertaining.

C is the little boy. Born June 26, 2006, he went through a lot in his first year but is doing just fine now. The only blond in the family, so his paternity is routinely questioned by rude strangers.

V is our baby girl. She is brand new and arrived in January 2009. So far everything is going well. We're thrilled to have added the final piece to our family puzzle. And yes, she WILL be the final piece!

Categories

  • 16,872 views
