The W Family Chronicles

Fire Safety for Kids

Posted on: May 25, 2007

So after the microwave fiasco, I am struck by just how clueless J was about fire safety.  I had to scream at him (literally, and I feel awful about that now) to get him out of the house.  He claims that he couldn’t hear me over the smoke detector, but I was down on his level and screaming (with obvious fear in my voice) for him to get out while holding the door open for him.  Maybe I scared him and he couldn’t move?  Maybe he really couldn’t hear me, even though *I* don’t remember the smoke detector going off until later in the whole ordeal, like after the fire was out?  Whatever the case, it’s painfully obvious that we really need to go over some fire safety and maybe have a fire drill or 2 at our house.  I’m looking for resources now, and hope I can find some good info and teaching points.  Maybe I’ll talk to our neighbor, since she teaches kids his age at a Montessori school.  I’m guessing she’ll have some good info.

While he didn’t get out right away, he did do a wonderful job of taking care of C while he was  outside.  I (being stupid) tried to put the fire out myself, so I had left them both outside in the carport without me.  J sat on a small box and held C while I was inside playing firefighter.  Probably not the best move under the circumstances, but I was in panic mode and just knew I had to get them out first.  It is scary stuff, and I hope I never have to go through it again.

Leave a Reply

W Family Players

D is the dad, the husband, and the breadwinner. All around nice guy and good at pretty much everything he does. It's disgusting, really. But makes him worth keeping around.

M is the mom, the wife, and the hopeless housekeeper. At least the kids' heads haven't fallen off yet. Beyond that, she sucks at the "stay at home" thing. Oh, and she's the blogger.

J is the big boy. Born October 11 2002, he is in kindergarten and loves it. Now 6 years old, and too smart for his own good. Talks a lot but extremely entertaining.

C is the little boy. Born June 26, 2006, he went through a lot in his first year but is doing just fine now. The only blond in the family, so his paternity is routinely questioned by rude strangers.

V is our baby girl. She is brand new and arrived in January 2009. So far everything is going well. We're thrilled to have added the final piece to our family puzzle. And yes, she WILL be the final piece!

Categories

  • 16,870 views
