The W Family Chronicles

I thought I was sick of Thomas the Train this weekend…

Posted on: June 14, 2007

…but that’s nothing compared to how I feel now.

I got an email from a friend (thanks, E!) about 3 hours ago telling me that many of Thomas’ little friends were being recalled because they contain lead paint. This is freaking fabulous…every time C can break away, he heads into J’s room and snags a train to chew on. I am absolutely livid.

We own over 50% of the items that have been recalled. And I am expected to ship them back to the company on *my* dime and wait 6-8 weeks for them to be replaced. And keep a 4 year old from flipping out when I take away a bunch of his favorite toys. And pay for the lead testing for my kids since they’ve had these toys in their mouths. I’m friggin’ furious.

I finally got through on the number they provided in the recall info and was told that they’re offering a free train to make up for the trouble. Yes, because giving us a free train (when we already have over 75% of them) makes up for the expense of postage, the lead testing, and the stress of all of this.

If you need more info, check this link: http://rjk.lcb.http.akamai-trials.com/recalls_Wood_0607.html

I’m off to take something for the blinding headache I currently have.

UPDATE: I went and got James out of J’s room (all of the other ones that have to be returned are still packed away from the move) and he had a complete and total meltdown.  Tears streaming down his face, just absolutely heart breaking.  I’d like to kick the person responsible for this in a very sensitive area.  I’m not a violent person, but I cannot stand to see my babies hurting like that.  And the best part?  The paint is all chipped and I’m now 99% sure that’s the one C always goes for when he manages to get his hands on a train.  Fabulous.  Guess I’ll be calling the pediatrician tomorrow to see just how worried I should be.

Leave a Reply

W Family Players

D is the dad, the husband, and the breadwinner. All around nice guy and good at pretty much everything he does. It's disgusting, really. But makes him worth keeping around.

M is the mom, the wife, and the hopeless housekeeper. At least the kids' heads haven't fallen off yet. Beyond that, she sucks at the "stay at home" thing. Oh, and she's the blogger.

J is the big boy. Born October 11 2002, he is in kindergarten and loves it. Now 6 years old, and too smart for his own good. Talks a lot but extremely entertaining.

C is the little boy. Born June 26, 2006, he went through a lot in his first year but is doing just fine now. The only blond in the family, so his paternity is routinely questioned by rude strangers.

V is our baby girl. She is brand new and arrived in January 2009. So far everything is going well. We're thrilled to have added the final piece to our family puzzle. And yes, she WILL be the final piece!

Categories

  • 16,873 views
