The W Family Chronicles

How did this happen?

Posted on: June 26, 2007

Today is C’s first birthday. A year ago, at this very moment, I was in recovery and anxious to see my baby, trying so hard to move my feet so they would send me to my room and I could hold him.

His very first picture:

img_0231small.jpg

The time stamp on this is 8:50, and he was born at 8:49. So he’s about 1 minute old here. Those are D’s hands…I was over on the operating table, bawling my head off…I couldn’t believe he was finally here, after everything we went through it seemed like a miracle that he was not only alive, but seemingly healthy! Of course the next couple of days were slightly scary, but everything turned out OK and here we are a year later with no major problems.

I could go on and on, but I need to get in the shower and get ready for gymnastics. And at 2:00 I’m having an x-ray to check on my kidneys and see if there are any stones in there. Ironic, since a year ago today I had a huge one which was the reason for C’s early birth. So prayers would be good…I am not really wanting to have another lithotripsy. Not only is it expensive, but it’s not really fun. Except for the drugs. Those are fun.

Leave a Reply

W Family Players

D is the dad, the husband, and the breadwinner. All around nice guy and good at pretty much everything he does. It's disgusting, really. But makes him worth keeping around.

M is the mom, the wife, and the hopeless housekeeper. At least the kids' heads haven't fallen off yet. Beyond that, she sucks at the "stay at home" thing. Oh, and she's the blogger.

J is the big boy. Born October 11 2002, he is in kindergarten and loves it. Now 6 years old, and too smart for his own good. Talks a lot but extremely entertaining.

C is the little boy. Born June 26, 2006, he went through a lot in his first year but is doing just fine now. The only blond in the family, so his paternity is routinely questioned by rude strangers.

V is our baby girl. She is brand new and arrived in January 2009. So far everything is going well. We're thrilled to have added the final piece to our family puzzle. And yes, she WILL be the final piece!

Categories

  • 16,873 views
