The W Family Chronicles

Blathering about Harry Potter!

Posted on: July 11, 2007

The next 10 days are BIG in Potter-land. Well, starting yesterday @ midnight, anyway. The movie was released today, of course. I don’t know when I’ll get to see it. That requires a babysitter, and since I cannot get past my phone phobia to dial the phone and ask our sitter to come watch the kids for a few hours, I don’t know when I’ll have the chance. D wants to see it, too, so I can’t just leave him with the babies.

Then of course there’s the book which comes out next Saturday. I’ve been re-reading the most recent 2 in preparation for the book and movie, and I had already ordered the new book to arrive on the day it was released. Until I realized that we’re going to be at the beach. CRAP! So now I need to figure out how to get it and read it while we’re out of town. Maybe I’ll go at midnight Friday to a bookstore? I’m just afraid that all of the local places will run out and I won’t be able to get it.

And the beach would be the perfect place to read it since I won’t be able to run across some idiot’s spoiler online. That happened to me while reading the last one. I was literally *pages* from the ending. I took a break to read email or something and somehow I ran across a site that told the ending. I was DEVASTATED. So irritating! But if I’m away from the computer for a few days with ample time to read since there will be other people to help w/ the kiddos, it’s a perfect scenario. No chance of being spoiled, and the actual *opportunity* to read! So now I just need to figure out how I’m going to get the book. If I knew the address where we are staying, I’d just use that to receive the shipment. Maybe I can find out.

I got my copy of PhotoShop today, but just now installed it. Will try to work on pics tomorrow!

And a year ago today was my due date with the C baby…can you believe it???

3 Responses to "Blathering about Harry Potter!"

Wow…a fear of calling babysitters, that’s interesting. If you’re so afraid of just calling a sitter, maybe you should go to http://www.mynannycalledinsick.com . It’s a website that allows you to choose a nanny from a long list of nanny profiles online in your geographical area. Maybe this will help with your fear?
Rachel

It’s not just babysitters…the act of dialing the phone to call someone is practically paralyzing to me. I can call my mom or my husband, but that’s about it. I don’t know what caused me to feel like this, but I suspect it began when I was in college and doing telemarketing. I can’t explain the fear. I know it’s irrational, but isn’t that the very definition of a phobia?

That site is interesting, though I can’t see paying $38 for a membership…we rarely use babysitters. I can count on one hand the number of times we’ve had a babysitter since my oldest was born. If my mom is in town or we’re visiting her, we leave the kids but other than that, we just don’t do stuff without them.

I can understand having a fear of making phone calls. Many people I know suffer from social anxieties. Even though you don’t hire a babysitter often you should definitely make sure to make time for yourself to relax and have fun. It will benefit your health, your relationships, etc. Good Luck.

Leave a Reply

W Family Players

D is the dad, the husband, and the breadwinner. All around nice guy and good at pretty much everything he does. It's disgusting, really. But makes him worth keeping around.

M is the mom, the wife, and the hopeless housekeeper. At least the kids' heads haven't fallen off yet. Beyond that, she sucks at the "stay at home" thing. Oh, and she's the blogger.

J is the big boy. Born October 11 2002, he is in kindergarten and loves it. Now 6 years old, and too smart for his own good. Talks a lot but extremely entertaining.

C is the little boy. Born June 26, 2006, he went through a lot in his first year but is doing just fine now. The only blond in the family, so his paternity is routinely questioned by rude strangers.

V is our baby girl. She is brand new and arrived in January 2009. So far everything is going well. We're thrilled to have added the final piece to our family puzzle. And yes, she WILL be the final piece!

Categories

  • 16,867 views
