The W Family Chronicles

I love Harry Potter. (No spoilers!)

Posted on: July 26, 2007

We left for MB Friday, so we were down there when the book was released.  D and I went to Wal-Mart at 11PM (because it was the closest and easiest place) to get the book and a few other things.  I wore C in the Mei Tai and once I got there, had to get a bracelet to guarantee I’d get a book.  We walked around a bit, grabbed the few things we needed, then swung back by the book section.  By this point, people were kind of lining up and waiting, so I decided to do the same.  It was kind of a fun atmosphere…we were all making fun of ourselves for lining up and waiting for a kid’s book.  Seemed like we waited forever…then waited some more because the Wal-Mart people apparently had clocks that were 5 minutes behind.  By this time there were a LOT of people and I was a little worried for C’s safety.  When they finally started handing out books, there was definitely a lot of pushing towards the table, especially since they had no real lines.  The people around me were really nice though and made sure we got out safely.

I was still re-reading Half-Blood Prince, so I pulled out my little purple book light and read that until I fell asleep.  Woke up in the AM and finished it up, then started Deathly Hallows right away.  I read as much as I could, when I could.  There were some trips to the pool in there, but I finished it by Sunday afternoon.

It was good.  Really, really good.  A bit slow in the middle, but otherwise a great book.  I did cry quite a bit, but since I had a *very* basic idea of the ending because I’d flipped to the end to see how many pages and accidentally read the last line, I knew…well I won’t say what I knew because technically it would be a spoiler, but I knew that the ending I feared is not the ending.  Sort of.  It is, but it’s not.  If you haven’t read it, are you confused yet???

Over all, it was a really great ending to a phenomenal series.  I’m sad that it’s come to an end, but I know it had to eventually.  Now that I know how it ends, I am looking forward to reliving the excitement when the kids are old enough for the books.  Probably a few years yet (I’m thinking maybe 8 years old?) but J is already interested and asks when he can read the books and see the movies.  I know he’ll love them when the time comes.

And now I am out of books to read…any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

W Family Players

D is the dad, the husband, and the breadwinner. All around nice guy and good at pretty much everything he does. It's disgusting, really. But makes him worth keeping around.

M is the mom, the wife, and the hopeless housekeeper. At least the kids' heads haven't fallen off yet. Beyond that, she sucks at the "stay at home" thing. Oh, and she's the blogger.

J is the big boy. Born October 11 2002, he is in kindergarten and loves it. Now 6 years old, and too smart for his own good. Talks a lot but extremely entertaining.

C is the little boy. Born June 26, 2006, he went through a lot in his first year but is doing just fine now. The only blond in the family, so his paternity is routinely questioned by rude strangers.

V is our baby girl. She is brand new and arrived in January 2009. So far everything is going well. We're thrilled to have added the final piece to our family puzzle. And yes, she WILL be the final piece!

Categories

  • 16,868 views
