The W Family Chronicles

Let’s see what else I can get stressed about, shall we?

Posted on: July 30, 2007

So my urologist appointment is a week from today and I’m starting to feel anxious about that. I feel like I need to see a nephrologist or someone with more knowledge of kidney stone disease, but there’s nobody here in Small Town, USA. We have excellent hospitals at UNC or Duke which are a reasonable distance away, but from what I have found kidney stones aren’t exactly high priority for them. I should probably push for a referral, but to WHO? And WHERE? I don’t even have the first clue where to go from here. So I’m a little stressed out about it.

Then, D came home and told me that both of the projects he was working on were shut down today. For now, things are fine. But if you know our history, you know I am freaking out. I simply cannot deal with this again. Maybe I’m over-reacting. I hope like hell I am. But if I’m not, and he loses another job, we’re really going to be in trouble. So definitely we can use all of the good thoughts, prayers, etc. you can muster. This economy (or more accurately, the manufacturing climate in this country) sucks and we’ve been it’s victim a few too many times. Yes, let’s send everything to China and put all of our own citizens out of work. And guess what…they’re trying to poison us all with their lead paint on toys and chemical laden fish, tainted toothpaste and dangerous dog food. Not to mention the bogus drugs they’re shipping into our country. (Did anyone watch Dateline last night? Scary stuff!)

No I’m not bitter. Much. Seriously, though, we could use some positive vibes from the world at large if you can spare them. I know in the grand scheme of things this is minor…we are all (mostly) healthy and we’d survive whatever we had to as long as we’re together. But I can’t help feeling like we’re about to get knocked down AGAIN. 😦

Leave a Reply

W Family Players

D is the dad, the husband, and the breadwinner. All around nice guy and good at pretty much everything he does. It's disgusting, really. But makes him worth keeping around.

M is the mom, the wife, and the hopeless housekeeper. At least the kids' heads haven't fallen off yet. Beyond that, she sucks at the "stay at home" thing. Oh, and she's the blogger.

J is the big boy. Born October 11 2002, he is in kindergarten and loves it. Now 6 years old, and too smart for his own good. Talks a lot but extremely entertaining.

C is the little boy. Born June 26, 2006, he went through a lot in his first year but is doing just fine now. The only blond in the family, so his paternity is routinely questioned by rude strangers.

V is our baby girl. She is brand new and arrived in January 2009. So far everything is going well. We're thrilled to have added the final piece to our family puzzle. And yes, she WILL be the final piece!

Categories

  • 16,867 views
