The W Family Chronicles

Kidney stones…yes, again. And more stuff.

Posted on: August 2, 2007

Yep, I’ve got another one. Well, I should say I have one *moving* since it appears that I pretty much always have one in my body. This one is on the right side. I’ve been doing OK. No need for narcotics (yet) and only an occasional Advil to take the edge off the pain. I guess I’m glad I have that urologist appt Monday.

C is getting more steady on his legs. He occasionally surprises us and walks across a room, though he definitely prefers crawling. I predict he’ll probably be walking full time (or mostly full time) within a month or two. It’s weird, because J was running as fast as his little legs would carry him by this age. C crawled earlier, though. And C is way more verbal than J was. I know I’m not supposed to compare them, but I really enjoy seeing their differences. I’m certainly not getting worked up about any of it so I guess it’s healthy comparison! šŸ˜›

J starts school in a couple of weeks…August 20 is his first day and I haven’t talked much about it b/c I don’t want him to get all excited just yet. I know he’s really missed school this summer and he’ll be glad to go back. I have him in 3 mornings a week this year, on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays. I hope he has some of his old friends in his class this year.

I am debating taking a photography class at the local community college. The only obstacle is that I don’t know when it starts…we’ll be at the beach for a week in September so I don’t want to miss a class for that. Our local CC offers some interesting classes. I wish I had the time to take several! Self Defense, Sign Language (which would be great for increasing my knowledge so we can teach C more signs!), Basic Spanish, and so many more are appealing. And that’s just our local campus, neighboring counties have classes in sustainability for my inner hippie, more art classes, basic healthcare certification courses, etc. I would love to go back to school at some point and get into the medical field. I started out as a nursing major in college and eventually switched to marketing but I really think I’d love to work in the healthcare field. Ultimately I’d like to become a lactation consultant and the easiest way to do so is via another healthcare field such as nursing. If I’d had a good LC, it would have made all the difference in the world when J was a newborn…I wouldn’t have failed at breastfeeding and he would (perhaps) not have asthma and such bad allergies. I can’t change my experience, but I may be able to improve someone else’s.

Oh, in regards to the new *massive* toy recall for lead paint, I’ll be back later to share my feelings about that. I know you all are really dying to hear me rant against China taking all of our manufacturing jobs and providing us with cheap unsafe products. šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

W Family Players

D is the dad, the husband, and the breadwinner. All around nice guy and good at pretty much everything he does. It's disgusting, really. But makes him worth keeping around.

M is the mom, the wife, and the hopeless housekeeper. At least the kids' heads haven't fallen off yet. Beyond that, she sucks at the "stay at home" thing. Oh, and she's the blogger.

J is the big boy. Born October 11 2002, he is in kindergarten and loves it. Now 6 years old, and too smart for his own good. Talks a lot but extremely entertaining.

C is the little boy. Born June 26, 2006, he went through a lot in his first year but is doing just fine now. The only blond in the family, so his paternity is routinely questioned by rude strangers.

V is our baby girl. She is brand new and arrived in January 2009. So far everything is going well. We're thrilled to have added the final piece to our family puzzle. And yes, she WILL be the final piece!

Categories

  • 16,870 views
