The W Family Chronicles

Yes, I’d love some cheese to go with that whine.

Posted on: August 14, 2007

My whole life seems to revolve around kidney stones these days.  I am completely exhausted because I’m not sleeping well, even with narcotics.  The pain makes me want to throw myself off a cliff at times.  I only leave the house when absolutely necessary because it is miserably hot and because I cannot take the drugs when I need to drive.  And I can’t really take them when I’m home alone with the kids, either.  I worry about C getting too much through my breastmilk, though the doctors all tell me it’s not a problem unless I’m taking them at addictive levels.  I’m not, so I guess it’s fine but I still feel like I’m drugging the poor kid.  I’ve tried to cut down on nursing in preparation for weaning if necessary, but it’s been hard on all of us.

I am at the point that I really, really hope that hyperparathyroidism is the answer, simply because the treatment is so clear cut and improvement is practically immediate after the surgery.  What kind of fruitcake hopes they have some crazy, rare illness?   I guess when you get to the point I’m at, hoping for a diagnosis is normal.  And this diagnosis is really as easy as it gets for treatment.  But if it’s not the answer, I just don’t know where we go from here.  And that scares me, because I cannot take the constant pain any more.  Not to mention the fear that this is ruining my kidneys (not an unfounded fear, according to the urologist) and that it does not bode well for my future health if it continues to happen.

I’m not sure what I’m really trying to say, other than just a major whine-fest.  But if you could spare the time, I’d really appreciate your prayers and good thoughts about all of this.  I really, really need for all of this to be over.

Leave a Reply

W Family Players

D is the dad, the husband, and the breadwinner. All around nice guy and good at pretty much everything he does. It's disgusting, really. But makes him worth keeping around.

M is the mom, the wife, and the hopeless housekeeper. At least the kids' heads haven't fallen off yet. Beyond that, she sucks at the "stay at home" thing. Oh, and she's the blogger.

J is the big boy. Born October 11 2002, he is in kindergarten and loves it. Now 6 years old, and too smart for his own good. Talks a lot but extremely entertaining.

C is the little boy. Born June 26, 2006, he went through a lot in his first year but is doing just fine now. The only blond in the family, so his paternity is routinely questioned by rude strangers.

V is our baby girl. She is brand new and arrived in January 2009. So far everything is going well. We're thrilled to have added the final piece to our family puzzle. And yes, she WILL be the final piece!

Categories

  • 16,873 views
