The W Family Chronicles

Still a better mom than Britney.

Posted on: November 8, 2007

Yesterday was a terrible day. It started out with finding out that J had an accident because he didn’t make it to the bathroom in time. I got him cleaned up and off to school, then came home and wrote my blog entry supporting the WGA between trying to distract C with some toys so I could do it without interrupting my stream of consciousness. (Didn’t work.) Showered while C stood outside the bathroom door, screaming and banging on it. (And D wonders why I frequently have unshaved strips on my legs or sometimes only do one.) Went to pick J up and we headed to McDonald’s (I know…it’s so gross!) to meet D for lunch. J was his typical over excited self and drove me bonkers the entire time we were there.

When we got home, he discovered that C had eaten something that J had left on the kitchen table and wanted to eat himself later. C’s climbing abilities are well documented in this house and he frequently hangs out on the kitchen table just because he can and because it apparently drives J nuts. (Which reminds me…when J gets upset he screams and waves his arms around which C finds hilarious and he now imitates him…so comical, but of course if I laughed I’d be the mean one!) So J knows it’s likely to get eaten if it’s left where C can get it. Cue the screaming fit which I simply did not feel like dealing with. I sent him to his room where he continued to scream and cry for quite a while. He finally fell asleep, so I took C down the hall and put him down for a nap. They both slept for quite a while and I (mercifully) had some time to myself. Got dinner thrown in the crock pot and had a little down time during which I caught up on some shows I’d saved on the DVR.

They both got back up and I was feeling *so* refreshed. That quickly went downhill, though. D had a financial planning seminar put on by work, so he was late getting home. I forgot, and I was also looking at a clock that hadn’t gotten changed so I thought he was WAY later than he was and I was going nuts. When he finally got home, I was just *so* thankful to have some help!  Especially when J had his second accident of the day because he couldn’t be torn away from playing long enough to pee in the toilet. *sigh*

Then came dinner. The new rule is that J has to at least *try* what we are eating. If he doesn’t, he goes to bed without dinner. (He usually gets a very late snack while we’re finishing cooking dinner so this isn’t as bad as it sounds. Plus it hasn’t happened yet.) If he tries it and doesn’t like it, he gets something of his own choosing. If he tries it and does like it, then he can eat that and it’s less work for us. Some nights this goes well. Some nights it doesn’t. Last night it didn’t. He whined, cried, and was threatened with bodily injury (not really) before he tried the ham. And then *surprise* he liked it. Though he had to drag out the drama and cry while he was chewing and saying “ew ew ew ew” until he realized it was actually good. It never ends.

So yesterday was not a good mommy day. I’d had it with him by the end of the day and I’m sure he figured it out. Not one of my better parenting moments. And yet I am *still* a way better mom than Britney Spears. Or so I tell myself. Why I am considering her a benchmark, I just do not know. Maybe it’s because she’s all over the media and her lack of anything resembling intelligence is just astounding. Regardless, at least I know I am not the *worst* mother ever to walk the earth.

Oh, and I knew there was a reason I kept refusing to buy Aqua Dots for J. Thank God I didn’t cave to the pressure…that’s super scary!

Leave a Reply

W Family Players

D is the dad, the husband, and the breadwinner. All around nice guy and good at pretty much everything he does. It's disgusting, really. But makes him worth keeping around.

M is the mom, the wife, and the hopeless housekeeper. At least the kids' heads haven't fallen off yet. Beyond that, she sucks at the "stay at home" thing. Oh, and she's the blogger.

J is the big boy. Born October 11 2002, he is in kindergarten and loves it. Now 6 years old, and too smart for his own good. Talks a lot but extremely entertaining.

C is the little boy. Born June 26, 2006, he went through a lot in his first year but is doing just fine now. The only blond in the family, so his paternity is routinely questioned by rude strangers.

V is our baby girl. She is brand new and arrived in January 2009. So far everything is going well. We're thrilled to have added the final piece to our family puzzle. And yes, she WILL be the final piece!

Categories

  • 16,873 views
