The W Family Chronicles

Lithotripsy #3, here I come.

Posted on: November 15, 2007

I’ve been having a lot of stone pain and finally went to the doctor today so I could get a refill on my percocet.  They did an x-ray to see what we were dealing with and the 2 large stones that have been sitting in my left kidney have both fallen into the ureter.  Oops.  The good news is that my kidneys now appear clear, so once these are gone I may have a respite from the damn things.  They asked if I wanted to do litho this weekend or wait until after Thanksgiving.  No brainer…I don’t want to be dealing with this during the holiday!  So I guess Saturday I’ll be having my 3rd lithotripsy.  Seriously, how many 32 year olds out there have already had this many kidney stones?  It’s so depressing.

My test results don’t indicate anything specific that may be causing them which is maddening.  My fluid intake is a little low, and they said sodium read a little high but beyond that my calcium, citrate, and other levels looked fine.  It just doesn’t make sense.  Frustrating beyond words!

So good thoughts and prayers that everything goes well Saturday and they fragment easily and are passed as painlessly as possible!

2 Responses to "Lithotripsy #3, here I come."

Hi. How are you now? I found out I passed a 3mm stone out of my left kidney in the ER on Dec 1st. It is now Jan 16th and the darn thing is still with me. I have postponed surgery – too small to blast, so they want to go in and get it and then a stent – woo hoo! I am going for a 2nd opinion on the 28th. In the meantime I am on week 1 of taking Uriflow. Tried SO many home remedies and none of them worked.

Anything work for you?

how are you feeling?

I am fine — actually had another litho a few days before Christmas. I have never been on Uriflow. They did give me Flomax but it didn’t help me to pass the one I had. It’s a relatively new treatment, traditionally it’s been given to men with prostate problems but it shows a lot of promise in aiding in kidney stone passage.

I would ask why they want to put a stent in after it’s been removed. I’ve never had a stent except for when I was at risk for a catastrophic blockage while pregnant. They couldn’t do litho so I had it placed at the same time I had an early c-section and had the stone blasted several days later. I only had it for a week and it was unpleasant. I would avoid them at all costs.

Leave a Reply

W Family Players

D is the dad, the husband, and the breadwinner. All around nice guy and good at pretty much everything he does. It's disgusting, really. But makes him worth keeping around.

M is the mom, the wife, and the hopeless housekeeper. At least the kids' heads haven't fallen off yet. Beyond that, she sucks at the "stay at home" thing. Oh, and she's the blogger.

J is the big boy. Born October 11 2002, he is in kindergarten and loves it. Now 6 years old, and too smart for his own good. Talks a lot but extremely entertaining.

C is the little boy. Born June 26, 2006, he went through a lot in his first year but is doing just fine now. The only blond in the family, so his paternity is routinely questioned by rude strangers.

V is our baby girl. She is brand new and arrived in January 2009. So far everything is going well. We're thrilled to have added the final piece to our family puzzle. And yes, she WILL be the final piece!

Categories

  • 16,873 views
