The W Family Chronicles

Pictures of the monster.

Posted on: November 19, 2007

I remember looking for kidney stone pictures years ago when I had my first bout with them. I had a hard time finding any good ones…apparently it’s pretty common to google kidney stone pictures because I get a lot of hits here from people who are looking for them. So as a public service, you can see a picture here. You have to click to see…I know a lot of people are a little weirded out by it so I’m trying to be sensitive to that. 😉

To keep things in perspective, I had 2 that were roughly 9mmx9mm each. These are significantly smaller, and were actually passed as one piece. I accidentally broke it apart trying to get the picture set up. These are each about 2mmx3mm, so that may give you some idea what I was dealing with earlier. For additional reference, the diameter of the ureter is around 3-4mm. I’ve passed stones as big as 5mm without help, but that seems to be about my limit. In my research, it seems like it’s fairly rare to pass stones that are larger than 5mm.

I am feeling better, though still not at 100%. I am trying to avoid the pain meds as much as possible, so that doesn’t really help matters. Right now I’m trying to get in touch with D to see if he can come home a bit early so I can get him to take J to his occupational therapy this afternoon. I just don’t feel up to it.

1 Response to "Pictures of the monster."

WOW! cant say i have had any that big. hope you feel 100% soon

Leave a Reply

W Family Players

D is the dad, the husband, and the breadwinner. All around nice guy and good at pretty much everything he does. It's disgusting, really. But makes him worth keeping around.

M is the mom, the wife, and the hopeless housekeeper. At least the kids' heads haven't fallen off yet. Beyond that, she sucks at the "stay at home" thing. Oh, and she's the blogger.

J is the big boy. Born October 11 2002, he is in kindergarten and loves it. Now 6 years old, and too smart for his own good. Talks a lot but extremely entertaining.

C is the little boy. Born June 26, 2006, he went through a lot in his first year but is doing just fine now. The only blond in the family, so his paternity is routinely questioned by rude strangers.

V is our baby girl. She is brand new and arrived in January 2009. So far everything is going well. We're thrilled to have added the final piece to our family puzzle. And yes, she WILL be the final piece!

Categories

  • 16,873 views
