The W Family Chronicles

School Anxiety

Posted on: February 20, 2008

The time has come for us to register our first child for kindergarten. I bet you think this is what’s causing my anxiety, but no. I can’t wait to have J in school full time. (That sounds a lot colder than I mean it to, I think. I will miss him a lot but he *really* needs this and so does C. And me for that matter.) We’re lucky that we have a choice here…we have a good school on a traditional calendar as our district school. But even better is that we have the option to send J to an excellent year round school. For many reasons (which I think I’ve mentioned before) the year round concept really appeals to me and I think it’s a better choice for J as well. He’s still pretty immature but he’s definitely ready for kindy according to his preschool teacher. So last night we went to an informational meeting at the year round school to see what additional info we could get.

First of all, they are adding a class so there’s 132 spots available. Approximately 40 of those are guaranteed spots for siblings (which is another reason we want him in this school…as long as you have one child there, your other kids are guaranteed a spot!) so that leaves around 90. And they’ve already received more applications than they have spots. Here’s where the anxiety comes in. That means there will be a lottery. And a waiting list. Plus there’s another week to turn in applications. I’m thinking this does not look good. I’ve heard of people getting the call the day before school starts in mid-July. D and I have decided that if he is on the waiting list he’ll go there no matter when we get the call. And that means (potentially) no summer vacation plans. No fall vacation plans. No nothing. We were hoping to go to Disney World during the first intersession in September/October. But if he’s on the waiting list we can’t do that. We can’t plan a beach trip for late July/early August because he may be in school. And not only that, but I *reallyreallyreally* want him in this school. It’s sending my anxiety through the roof. So if you could, keep this matter in your thoughts and prayers. It seems like a silly request, but when you have a kid like J, it could make all the difference in the world when it comes to his education and maturation.

In other news, we just got the word on D’s bonus for the year and it’s good. Perhaps the W family will be doing some stimulating of the economy after all? We desperately need a new TV. But even more, I need to pay off some of these medical bills. Hopefully there’s some left over once all of those go away…and we don’t have any more for a while. I feel good lately. I feel a twinge every now and then but it always goes away so I don’t necessarily think it’s stones. I haven’t had an xray in a while (since before Christmas) so I’m hoping there’s nothing going on with my kidneys other than them doing what they’re supposed to do. I’m praying that I just had a couple of bad years with them and now everything is going to be OK for a while. I can hope, right?

Leave a Reply

W Family Players

D is the dad, the husband, and the breadwinner. All around nice guy and good at pretty much everything he does. It's disgusting, really. But makes him worth keeping around.

M is the mom, the wife, and the hopeless housekeeper. At least the kids' heads haven't fallen off yet. Beyond that, she sucks at the "stay at home" thing. Oh, and she's the blogger.

J is the big boy. Born October 11 2002, he is in kindergarten and loves it. Now 6 years old, and too smart for his own good. Talks a lot but extremely entertaining.

C is the little boy. Born June 26, 2006, he went through a lot in his first year but is doing just fine now. The only blond in the family, so his paternity is routinely questioned by rude strangers.

V is our baby girl. She is brand new and arrived in January 2009. So far everything is going well. We're thrilled to have added the final piece to our family puzzle. And yes, she WILL be the final piece!

Categories

  • 16,873 views
