The W Family Chronicles

And now I have it…plus camping in the living room.

Posted on: February 24, 2008

I’m pretty sure I’ve come down with the flu, now.  D still seems OK.  J is OK in the mornings but slowly gets worn down and by afternoon he’s fairly puny and has a high fever again.  C is mostly OK…he feels warm occasionally but I’m not sure he’s getting it…or at least not as bad as J.  (Yay for breast milk!)

I have a sore throat, headache, lethargy, mild aches and pains and my head feels like it’s going to explode.  No fever yet, but I assume it’s just a matter of time.  I’m not bothering with a flu test today because I don’t think it will show positive yet.   Probably tomorrow AM…and then I can get started on my course of Tamiflu.

Last night, right at 10:00, our power went out.  Both boys were still up and we were all in the living room when it happened.  D and I were on the couch, J was on another couch and C was walking around in the floor.  Everything was pitch black at first and both kids started crying…we got them rounded up as quickly as possible and got them both on the couch where we were, then D went to hunt for a light source.  He came back with a small flashlight and an oil lamp so I grabbed the flashlight and the phone book to call Progress Energy.  Luckily we still have one wall phone that doesn’t require electricity!  We *never* use it but I keep it just in case of the power going out.  They told me it would likely be 12:45 before power was restored so I knew we had to come up with a plan to make this fun and non-scary for the kids.  I suggested a campout in the living room, and all of us sleeping in there together.

So J got his sleeping bag and curled up on the couch.  We put C on the other couch and D dragged the mattress from C’s room into the living room for us.  The power came back on around 11:30 but with both kids asleep, we decided to stay in there.  It turned what was initially something very scary for both of them into something that was not only non-scary, but a fun activity!  I am usually not so brilliant when it comes to stuff like that.  I am really impressed that I got it right, for once.

Leave a Reply

W Family Players

D is the dad, the husband, and the breadwinner. All around nice guy and good at pretty much everything he does. It's disgusting, really. But makes him worth keeping around.

M is the mom, the wife, and the hopeless housekeeper. At least the kids' heads haven't fallen off yet. Beyond that, she sucks at the "stay at home" thing. Oh, and she's the blogger.

J is the big boy. Born October 11 2002, he is in kindergarten and loves it. Now 6 years old, and too smart for his own good. Talks a lot but extremely entertaining.

C is the little boy. Born June 26, 2006, he went through a lot in his first year but is doing just fine now. The only blond in the family, so his paternity is routinely questioned by rude strangers.

V is our baby girl. She is brand new and arrived in January 2009. So far everything is going well. We're thrilled to have added the final piece to our family puzzle. And yes, she WILL be the final piece!

Categories

  • 16,867 views
