The W Family Chronicles

In over my head?

Posted on: March 4, 2008

D and a friend from work are launching a business together and I’ve been named the Director of Marketing. (I *knew* that degree would come in handy someday!) So included in that is the dubious role of webmaster. I’m not computer stupid, but I’m no html (or whatever the kids are using these days) whiz, either.

I decided to take the easy route and use WordPress as a content management tool. Basically it’s going to be a blog, but not really set up for regular entries or anything. I’ve used the dashboard here quite a bit so I felt like I knew my way around it enough to get something put together. WRONG. WRONG WRONG WRONG.

It’s a whole new thing when you’re using your own hosting. You have to install the WP software onto your server and install your theme and all kinds of crazy stuff that has me pulling my hair out. And unfortunately my marketing budget is $0 (blown by over $100 now that I’ve purchased the domains and hosting) so I can’t hire anyone to do it. What was I thinking when I said I could do this? And truthfully, I know I *can* it’s just a pain in the rear and there’s a steep learning curve. Thankfully I already have a copy of the “WordPress for Dummies” book because clearly I am a dummy.

Edit 5 minutes after this was posted…thank heavens for that WP for Dummies book.  Once I looked up how to upload a them it took me just a couple of minutes to do it and I’ve already got it done AND changed the theme.  Clearly I am *not* a dummy!

Leave a Reply

W Family Players

D is the dad, the husband, and the breadwinner. All around nice guy and good at pretty much everything he does. It's disgusting, really. But makes him worth keeping around.

M is the mom, the wife, and the hopeless housekeeper. At least the kids' heads haven't fallen off yet. Beyond that, she sucks at the "stay at home" thing. Oh, and she's the blogger.

J is the big boy. Born October 11 2002, he is in kindergarten and loves it. Now 6 years old, and too smart for his own good. Talks a lot but extremely entertaining.

C is the little boy. Born June 26, 2006, he went through a lot in his first year but is doing just fine now. The only blond in the family, so his paternity is routinely questioned by rude strangers.

V is our baby girl. She is brand new and arrived in January 2009. So far everything is going well. We're thrilled to have added the final piece to our family puzzle. And yes, she WILL be the final piece!

Categories

  • 16,867 views
