The W Family Chronicles

Returned from the K-town!

Posted on: March 21, 2008

Everyone has returned to Sanford safely — D from a work trip to Indiana and the kids and I from Knoxville.  We had a great time with my mom, but I’m happy to be back in my own bed with my sweet husband beside me.  (Yeah, I’m sappy, sue me!)

J has been registered for school. He has a kindergarten screening on April 14 (for which D has to take off work because they won’t let me bring C…what about the moms who don’t have this option???) and a health assessment with our ped for May 1.  They took our religious exemption letter for vaccines without so much as batting an eyelash, though I was told that he might potentially be asked to stay out of school if there was an outbreak of a vaccine preventable disease.  I’m OK with this…it’s the risk we take.  And of course, depending on the illness/vaccine, we may consider vaccinating at that time for whatever is going around, assuming it’s something he’s not immune to.  I plan on getting titers drawn for some of these things if necessary.

I have some thoughts I’d like to share re: Obama and his minister’s statements that have caused such a stir.  I don’t know that I feel like getting into it tonight, though.  A bath is looking mighty inviting…I’m sore all over from the drive home yesterday.  We’ll see if I ever bother to revisit this topic!

2 Responses to "Returned from the K-town!"

For what it is worth, there were quite a few siblings at Hailey’s screening. They take the kids away to the library and the parents stay and receive an “orientation”. If C can sit quietly, you shouldn’t have a problem.

If he could sit quietly, I’d probably bring him. The only way he can sit quietly is if I nurse him and that is NOT going to happen in public at this age. It’s no big deal for D to take off work — I just hate for him to use his personal days on something like this. Just one more reason for me to find a good part time daycare sitch!

Leave a Reply

W Family Players

D is the dad, the husband, and the breadwinner. All around nice guy and good at pretty much everything he does. It's disgusting, really. But makes him worth keeping around.

M is the mom, the wife, and the hopeless housekeeper. At least the kids' heads haven't fallen off yet. Beyond that, she sucks at the "stay at home" thing. Oh, and she's the blogger.

J is the big boy. Born October 11 2002, he is in kindergarten and loves it. Now 6 years old, and too smart for his own good. Talks a lot but extremely entertaining.

C is the little boy. Born June 26, 2006, he went through a lot in his first year but is doing just fine now. The only blond in the family, so his paternity is routinely questioned by rude strangers.

V is our baby girl. She is brand new and arrived in January 2009. So far everything is going well. We're thrilled to have added the final piece to our family puzzle. And yes, she WILL be the final piece!

Categories

  • 16,870 views
