The W Family Chronicles

Back to the grind…and Obama.

Posted on: March 26, 2008

J’s back to school today.  I have TONS of photos to edit and post from our time at my mom’s and Easter, but I just don’t have the motivation.  I’m sorry…maybe later today?  I’m overwhelmed with other stuff right now and it’s just not been high on my list of priorities.

I know I mentioned Obama a few posts back.  I’ve tried to stay away from politics in this blog because most of my family is uber-conservative and I’m, well, not.  To be perfectly frank, they probably view me as a flaming bleeding heart liberal.  Which is mostly true…on social issues I find that I’m very liberal.  On the fiscal side, I would describe myself as moderate or even conservative.  Regardless, I find that frequently we clash on the issues and so I rarely bring it up anymore.  I can respect other people’s beliefs and stances, but I don’t feel the same way.

That out of the way, I adore Barack Obama.  I remember hearing a speech from him several years ago (maybe during the time of the last presidential election?) and thinking that he should be our next president.  The name and the spirit stuck with me, and I find myself thrilled that he has made it to this point.  He gives me hope for the future, and I find that sorely lacking in our country these days.  I know that no president can truly change the country and it’s policies, but I think they can change the mood, for lack of a better word.  And I think that’s something that’s very powerful.  I like his platform, though as we all know most of that is a pipe dream…but at least I know where he stands and I think he and I align very closely.

The debacle last week where his nutty minister’s sound bites were released bothered me.  A lot.  Until I started thinking about it some more.  As I caught the clips on CNN here and there, I remember thinking that he sounded a LOT like those morons on the 700 Club right after 9/11.  Perhaps his words were a bit more vulgar, but I found it to be much the same rhetoric.  I didn’t like what they had to say, and I didn’t like what Wright had to say.  I think spouting hate in God’s name is wrong, no matter who does it or the form it takes.

That said, I still support Obama.  Nobody has been able to produce clips of him saying those things, nor have they shown that he agrees with those things.  When I was a child and teenager, my family attended a church where we didn’t care for the minister’s sermons.  My parents certainly never spoke up to say anything.  For us, church was about way more than what the minister had to say.  We had friends, Sunday School classes, youth programs, choir, etcetera that we enjoyed immensely.  A church is about more than just the minister, especially when it’s as large a church as Trinity (where Wright is minister) was/is…there are over 6000 members!  I checked out Trinity’s website and their ministries are really impressive.  It’s the type of church I’d love to find.  And if I didn’t like some of the things the minister had to say from the pulpit, I might swallow that in the interest of participating in the other great things going on there.

Obama’s speech last week really moved me.  I didn’t hear it until I got home and someone posted a sound clip of it at a website I frequent.  If you haven’t heard it, please consider listening to it here.  It’s a rather large mp3 file, so if you prefer to read it, a transcript is available here.  If you don’t want to read the whole thing, scroll down and start at the paragraph where he starts “I have already condemned, in unequivocal terms…”  It was an incredibly moving speech, and I had tears in my eyes while listening because it says, so well, what I feel so often when I think about what I want for this country.

I am an unapologetic idealist.  I hope.  I do my best to be the kind of person that I think this entire country should be made up of, and I think I do a decent job.  So come May 6, when NC holds it’s primary, I’ll cast my vote for Obama.  And pray that he wins the nomination.  And then pray that he becomes our next president.  Because we need a change.  We need hope.  And I think we need Obama.

2 Responses to "Back to the grind…and Obama."

I’m so impressed with this post (as usual!). I’m a liberal and I’ve been sort of fence sitting when it comes to Obama vs HRC. I know the primary is coming up and actually MAY MATTER this year–unlike usual for NC. I never saw the speech Obama gave in response to the Wright controversy. Thank you so much for the link to the transcrip!!. I didn’t read the whole thing, but I did start where you suggested and it’s SO INSPIRATIONAL. Wow. I felt a lump in my throat (and almost teared up myself)
Thanks for writing about this. I really think I’m in the Obama camp after reading your post and part of his speech. Keep up the good work!!!

Thank you for the compliment…I’m blushing! Yeah, it’s hard to believe that our primary might actually matter. If I can turn even one person on to Obama, I’m happy! I think he’d be a great positive change for our country.

Leave a Reply

W Family Players

D is the dad, the husband, and the breadwinner. All around nice guy and good at pretty much everything he does. It's disgusting, really. But makes him worth keeping around.

M is the mom, the wife, and the hopeless housekeeper. At least the kids' heads haven't fallen off yet. Beyond that, she sucks at the "stay at home" thing. Oh, and she's the blogger.

J is the big boy. Born October 11 2002, he is in kindergarten and loves it. Now 6 years old, and too smart for his own good. Talks a lot but extremely entertaining.

C is the little boy. Born June 26, 2006, he went through a lot in his first year but is doing just fine now. The only blond in the family, so his paternity is routinely questioned by rude strangers.

V is our baby girl. She is brand new and arrived in January 2009. So far everything is going well. We're thrilled to have added the final piece to our family puzzle. And yes, she WILL be the final piece!

Categories

  • 16,867 views
