The W Family Chronicles

My utmost respect for single parents this week…

Posted on: April 2, 2008

So D has been gone for 3 days now.  I am reminded of why I chose the man I did and why it is a very good idea to be in a committed relationship to have kids (I’m not passing judgment on those who did otherwise…trust me…no WAY could I do it!) because it’s been HARD dealing with both kids on my own.  J not so much…at 5, he’s a fairly independent kid and can entertain himself with the computer, his trains, or *gasp* the TV if things get desperate.  C is another story.  He is still a velcro baby and as much as I adore him, it’s hard to be the sole care provider to a child who is so high needs.

It also reminds me that many military wives (or husbands!) are doing this for months at a time while their spouses are deployed.  I cannot imagine how hard it is for them on a daily basis.  Not only are they basically becoming a single parent, but they have the additional stress of knowing that their loved one may not come back to them at all.  I’d totally go back to Knoxville and move in with my mom for the entire deployment.  Of course, if you have kids in school or a job, that may not be possible.  It’s staggering to me that these women and men survive it.  Most likely they have better support  (friends, child care providers, etc.) than I do — not that I have even really tried to build a support system here so maybe that’s part of my problem.

The good news is that after 3 days of doing it all with no extra distraction, I have 2 play dates planned for tomorrow, one of which will include dinner.  And then D will be home Friday and all will be right in my world again.  He should get here in the early afternoon and we’ll try to do something fun as a family.

We’ll probably also be celebrating our 7th anniversary this weekend.  Monday is the day, but it’s always tough to do something on a weekday.  I can’t believe we tied the knot 7 years ago…we’ve now been married as long as we dated prior to getting engaged.  It seems like a lifetime!  This fall, we’ll mark 15 years together.  It’s hard to believe I met the man I would end up marrying at the age of 17.  If my 17 year old daughter came home and told me she met the man she was going to marry, I think I’d lock her in her room until she was 25.  Of course, at the time I had no intentions of getting married to anyone!  It’s funny how those things work out…how life happens when you least expect it.

Leave a Reply

W Family Players

D is the dad, the husband, and the breadwinner. All around nice guy and good at pretty much everything he does. It's disgusting, really. But makes him worth keeping around.

M is the mom, the wife, and the hopeless housekeeper. At least the kids' heads haven't fallen off yet. Beyond that, she sucks at the "stay at home" thing. Oh, and she's the blogger.

J is the big boy. Born October 11 2002, he is in kindergarten and loves it. Now 6 years old, and too smart for his own good. Talks a lot but extremely entertaining.

C is the little boy. Born June 26, 2006, he went through a lot in his first year but is doing just fine now. The only blond in the family, so his paternity is routinely questioned by rude strangers.

V is our baby girl. She is brand new and arrived in January 2009. So far everything is going well. We're thrilled to have added the final piece to our family puzzle. And yes, she WILL be the final piece!

Categories

  • 16,873 views
