The W Family Chronicles

Decorating the living room

Posted on: April 6, 2008

I finally sold the old sofa and loveseat (yay for Craigslist — after I listed them there, they were gone in 24 hours!) so I want to get started on turning that room into something nice. There are still quite a few boxes in there so I need to work on those but of course I’m getting ahead of myself by choosing paint colors and buying pillows and stuff.

The sofa my brother and his wife gave us is a strange shade of brown…not dark enough to be chocolate, but not a light color either. I thought chocolate brown leather would look good with it, so I bought a storage ottoman at Target (yes, Target again!) and tried it out. I looked great, so now we’re on the hunt for chocolate brown leather chairs. Something like this…it’s a La-Z-Boy recliner, to satisfy D’s desire for a recliner. The lines of it are very similar to the couch, so I think it would be a great fit. I’m sure it’s way too expensive, but at least I have an idea of what I want.

The cushions I bought (at Target!) look like this and I also got 2 solid chocolate brown silk pillows, and will probably get a couple more solid blue pillows. We’ll paint the walls Lament Blue (Valspar color 5001-5A) and the brick will get painted white. The entire room (brick and all) is yellow right now so it will be a huge change.

I’m going to use the brick wall as a place to hang some art and photographs. I think with the white background, it will look really nice. I’m still not sure what to do with the windows…I hesitate to go with the  sheers that match the pillows exactly because I worry it will be too much against the walls of a similar color. But I’m afraid doing chocolate brown will make the room dark. I’m thinking of using white sheers…but I’m not sure I’ll like how they look against the weird shade of brown couch.

Maybe about this time next year, it will be finished…since that’s typically about how long my projects take to come to fruition.

Leave a Reply

W Family Players

D is the dad, the husband, and the breadwinner. All around nice guy and good at pretty much everything he does. It's disgusting, really. But makes him worth keeping around.

M is the mom, the wife, and the hopeless housekeeper. At least the kids' heads haven't fallen off yet. Beyond that, she sucks at the "stay at home" thing. Oh, and she's the blogger.

J is the big boy. Born October 11 2002, he is in kindergarten and loves it. Now 6 years old, and too smart for his own good. Talks a lot but extremely entertaining.

C is the little boy. Born June 26, 2006, he went through a lot in his first year but is doing just fine now. The only blond in the family, so his paternity is routinely questioned by rude strangers.

V is our baby girl. She is brand new and arrived in January 2009. So far everything is going well. We're thrilled to have added the final piece to our family puzzle. And yes, she WILL be the final piece!

Categories

  • 16,873 views
