The W Family Chronicles

Google anything related to kidney stones…

Posted on: April 10, 2008

Go ahead, do it.  See if this blog comes up.

I was looking at the search terms that brought people here and kidney stones is one that comes up over and over.  If you add up all of the kidney stone related searches, it overshadows all of the other ones that bring people here by a huge margin.  So I decided to google kidney stones and see where I fell…but I went to page 25 of the Google results and still didn’t see myself, so I gave up.  Seriously, I know I talk about them a lot but to find out that so many people are arriving here because they’re googling kidney stones?  It’s a little surprising, especially considering the google results I just got when I googled kidney stones myself.

Anyway…those stats are always interesting to me.  Sometimes a bit scary when there are several words put together that I know *I* would never put together myself!  I try to keep myself mostly anonymous for safety, but I find I’m getting a lot of hits from people locally and I wonder if I should just be open about who I am.  I doubt anyone from around here would even recognize me, though.  We’ve been here 2 years and still know almost nobody.  D knows people from work and we know some of the neighbors, but beyond that we’ve been fairly anonymous anyway.  I would like to meet some more people here, but is blogging really the way to do it?  I’ve been fairly opinionated on some of our local establishments (Crapplebee’s, anyone?) and I worry that becoming less anonymous might open me up for backlash.

Then again, I’m probably not as anonymous as I’d like to think I am.  Probably anyone with a little time on their hands and some know-how could figure out my full name, address, and who knows what else just from this blog.  As much as I try to stay anonymous, I just don’t do a very good job of it!

And speaking of kidney stones, I am experiencing significant pain and I’m pretty sure there’s another one on the move.  I’m avoiding the urologist right now because we just don’t have the extra money for another surgery.  But I’ll have to give in soon because when I broke down and took some drugs the other night, I realized I’m running very, very low and several of the old bottles that I’ve been hording have now expired so I can’t take those anymore.  That does not bode well for my weekend…

1 Response to "Google anything related to kidney stones…"

Hi Melissa!! This is such a funny post, I did find your blog while googling kidney stones, lol!! I just read all your kidney stone posts and totally feel for you! I am in my own mental hell now, with a kidney stone. Come check out my nightmare of a kidney stone story:

http://ihatestones.blogspot.com/2008/06/my-opening-message.html

Its comforting to know there are others out there who are also experiencing this.

Eileen G.
Montville, NJ

Leave a Reply

W Family Players

D is the dad, the husband, and the breadwinner. All around nice guy and good at pretty much everything he does. It's disgusting, really. But makes him worth keeping around.

M is the mom, the wife, and the hopeless housekeeper. At least the kids' heads haven't fallen off yet. Beyond that, she sucks at the "stay at home" thing. Oh, and she's the blogger.

J is the big boy. Born October 11 2002, he is in kindergarten and loves it. Now 6 years old, and too smart for his own good. Talks a lot but extremely entertaining.

C is the little boy. Born June 26, 2006, he went through a lot in his first year but is doing just fine now. The only blond in the family, so his paternity is routinely questioned by rude strangers.

V is our baby girl. She is brand new and arrived in January 2009. So far everything is going well. We're thrilled to have added the final piece to our family puzzle. And yes, she WILL be the final piece!

Categories

  • 16,867 views
