The W Family Chronicles

Family Update

Posted on: September 11, 2008

D is still pounding the pavement looking for work.  Needless to say, our savings is dwindling quickly and we’re reaching a low point.  If you can, please pray that something comes through soon.  He has a lot of irons in the fire that could turn out to be the big thing that gets us back on our feet, but right now that’s all they are…possibilities.  It does look like he may be picking up some remodeling work for some friends so that’s good.  One way or another, we’ve got to get some income flowing again.

And I have just started looking for a job.  Something part time that won’t require a lot of standing.  Unfortunately that pretty much eliminates retail which is going to be the hot place to be as the holidays start to roll around.  That would be ideal since a seasonal position wouldn’t expect me to stay on past mid January or so.  With the baby being due in late January that would give me a chance to leave gracefully.  I haven’t discounted the idea completely, but for now I’m hoping to find a part time receptionist type position.  Something that would allow me to continue working after the baby arrives if I need to do that.  It’s a little scary to be putting resumes out there when I haven’t worked in over 6 years!

J is doing very well at school.  I am now volunteering in his classroom one morning a week and getting to see how he’s doing firsthand, as well as getting a peek at how the teacher and the aide handle things.  Not that I didn’t trust them, but it’s nice to be able to see their interactions with the class and get a better understanding of how things work there.  I also just had my first parent-teacher conference and he will be receiving all Es (Excellent) in academics and all Ss (Satisfactory, which is the highest grade possible) in behavior for the first term.  We couldn’t ask for more!

C is a typical 2 year old.  He’s very sweet 90% of the time.  The other 10% he enjoys tormenting his big brother or his daddy.  Luckily I escape most of that!  He still loves to snuggle at night and generally joins us in our bed in the wee hours.  He’s going to have a big adjustment when his little sister arrives.  We’re doing our best to prepare him but at 2 years old he doesn’t understand much.  He does enjoy talking to my belly and giving the baby “tisses” (kisses) but obviously has no clue that his world will be turned upside down in about 4 1/2 months!

Baby girl is still nameless.  Most of the names on our list have been vetoed by one or both of us, so we’re starting from scratch again.  We’ve zeroed in on one (we think) but won’t be sharing until we make a final decision.  She grows stronger every day.  Last Sunday at church, she kicked me throughout the music prior to the sermon.  We’ve just started attending a very contemporary church and they play loud rock music.  I am not quite sure whether she can hear or was just responding to the vibration of the bass.  Either way, it was pretty funny and I had a hard time not laughing!

We’re having a quiet day here today…lots of reflection on the anniversary of the September 11 attacks.  With J in school, I am unsure of what he may hear about the day or if it’s something that wouldn’t even be discussed in a kindergarten classroom.  I know that kids in our district as young as 2nd grade will be hearing information about the history.  I can only hope that he can keep his innocence about the hatred that abounds in this world for a few more years.  If you would, pray that any questions he might have can be answered without scaring him or forcing him to grow up too fast.  He is still so young and I would love to keep the scary stuff at bay for at least a few more years.

1 Response to "Family Update"

Hi Melissa,
I’m not sure if you will remember me or not, but I was in the Phi Mu Pledge class at Tech 94-95. I was good friends with Angelle Brouwer-Copenhaver (now…which is how I discovered your blog..thanks to her blog) and dated Chris’ brother, Brian for a while. Nevertheless, I’ve been keeping up with your family and have really felt for you guys during this time of unemployment. My husband, Brad, works for a national corporate real estate company (CB Richard Ellis) & I was talking to him about your blog. I’m not sure what your husbands degree is in, but with offices in North Carolina (& TN as well), he is willing to give his guys a call if there is something that might fit. The company has different needs from real estate sales to IT, etc…you never know…I thought it wouldn’t hurt to extend the offer. Feel free to check out CBRE’s website (www.cbre.com)…you can even find a link to Brad’s site, telling a little what he does (search: Brad Meyer- Cincinnati office).
Hopefully something will pan out soon for you guys…Congratulations on baby #3…love the name Violet. I have 2 boys of my own (just had #2 on 8-8-08).
Take care,
Misty Brady-Meyer

Leave a Reply

W Family Players

D is the dad, the husband, and the breadwinner. All around nice guy and good at pretty much everything he does. It's disgusting, really. But makes him worth keeping around.

M is the mom, the wife, and the hopeless housekeeper. At least the kids' heads haven't fallen off yet. Beyond that, she sucks at the "stay at home" thing. Oh, and she's the blogger.

J is the big boy. Born October 11 2002, he is in kindergarten and loves it. Now 6 years old, and too smart for his own good. Talks a lot but extremely entertaining.

C is the little boy. Born June 26, 2006, he went through a lot in his first year but is doing just fine now. The only blond in the family, so his paternity is routinely questioned by rude strangers.

V is our baby girl. She is brand new and arrived in January 2009. So far everything is going well. We're thrilled to have added the final piece to our family puzzle. And yes, she WILL be the final piece!

Categories

  • 16,868 views
